2014 State Champions!

Who we are!

North Fayette Community School District enrolls approximately 830 students with centers in West Union and Fayette, Iowa. North Fayette benefits from strong community support and the district has high expectations for student achievement. The district is focusing on implementation of the Iowa Core Curriculum through Professional Learning Communities and is advancing its infrastructure for integration of technology tools at all grade levels.

North Fayette CSD is in a Whole Grade Sharing agreement with Valley CSD.  The sharing agreement sends grades 7-8 to Valley and 9-12 to North Fayette.  District offices and the 9-12 North Fayette Valley High School are located in the progressive community of West Union, Iowa in the heart of picturesque Northeast Iowa. The school boasts excellent facilities with newly renovated athletic fields and a state of the art Performing Arts Center. North Fayette Valley Middle School is located in rural Elgin and serves grades 7-8 with a full range of activities and academic opportunities. Elementary schools are located in West Union and Fayette and include Pre-K program partnerships in all communities.

Valley Community School's District office and PK - 8th grade is located in the rural community of Elgin, IA, nested between the expanding communities of Clermont and Elgin, IA.


The mission of the North Fayette Schools is to work cooperatively to create a safe learning environment which fosters in all students a sense of self discipline, positive self esteem, accountability, responsibility and respect. The result will encourage life long skills, so that students may become contributors in a global society.